Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question on my 4 link should the lower bar and pan hard bar be leavel at ride height? Aslo what angle should the upper bar be in?

I also noticed I went with a shorter tire went from a 33" to a 31" and I had to adjust the pan hard bar to move the rear end over to the right 3/4".

The car is used on the street mainly

thanks

·
Premium Member
2,313 Posts
I'm not a mechanical engineer, but the position of the four link bars determines the IC. I make my four link adjustments based on where I want the IC location, which is based on track conditions, my launch RPMs, etc. If you are primarily running your car on the street, then it doesn't matter all that much - you might get more responses from others who run four links on the street in the Steering, Suspension and Chassis forum.

As far as a panhard bar, when setting up this type of rearend centering device for customers, I've experienced the least amount of side-to-side movement if the bar is parallel to the ground at ride height.

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
Bottom bar should be angled pointing down towards the front of the car just a little. If its up, it will push your suspension up taking the weight off the rear wheels (bad) If its too far down it will squat too much . put 2 jacks on your car on each side...wherever the car balances (center) and then about a foot up from the frame, have the top one pointing towards it (i think) Usually right about where your shifter is. I havnt messed with my top bar much. Bottom one I have. I do know that if the bottom bar is level or pointing up my car floats all over the track. And pointing down a bit it squats and hooks on the street like a mo fo.

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Question on my 4 link should the lower bar and pan hard bar be leavel at ride height? Aslo what angle should the upper bar be in?