Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm restoring 1973 Nova that currently has a built 350 engine (from 1987), th350 auto trans. headers, msd ignition, 3k stall, Holley 650 double pumper, and a few other upgrades.

I've got a 383 Vortec Jasper engine (from 1996) that started knocking when an oil coolant line broke, causing the engine to run dry. After disassembling the motor I found a seized piston and some signs of wear on the crank. The other parts appear to be fine, but this is my first time completely disassembling a short block so I'm not certain what parts can be reused.

I need assistance figuring out what parts to buy, and estimating a budget. Since this is my first complete engine build I'm also looking for suggestions and potential problems I may encounter.

• Machine Shop - Polish the crank - $90
  • Machine Shop - Valve Job on Vortec Heads - $325 (How do I determine if a valve job is necessary?)
  • Camshaft - suggestions?
  • Intake Manifold (must fit Vortec Heads) - suggestions?
  • Carb - I have a Holley 750 Demon and a Holley 650 Double pumper that could be used, open to suggestions.
  • Bearings for the crank.
  • I plan on reusing the lifters, rockers, pushrods, connecting rods and pistons (if possible)
  • New hardware or Reuse old hardware?

The engine will be used on the street for fun when the weather is nice. Not exactly a daily driver. 10:1 compression on pump gas with 500hp is the goal...

·
Registered
1,037 Posts