Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
-194 in³ (3.2 L) inline 6-
alright, i got 3 for ya guys.
theres probably a quick answer to this, my idle creeps up. starts of nice and smooth and in about 30 seconds it gets to be a a really loud rough beast. if i tap the gas itll go back down then start creepin up again. whats goin on with this??
second theres clack. its not too loud but loud enough, i havent got much info on it besides its not a normal noise... if you could just point me in the right direction...
and finally, when i shift into drive, accerlerate too quickly, or just starting from a stop my cars dies. i was thinkin fuel pump, but my brotherinlaw says no.
i am just starting to learn to work on cars, im sure ya can tell, so id appreciate the help.
thanks aton everyone.

·
Premium Member
832 Posts
The 3rd one is the carb accellerator pump. Its a little squirt pump in the carb that gives an extra jolt of gas when you open the throttle so the engine won't go lean and cough or hesitate, and possibly die. The other 2 questions are to ill defined to address.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Check the intake -ex gasket. they have a habit of leaking causing all sorts of problems. Like was said make sure the acc. pump is adjusted correctly. It must be absolutely right or the engine will have a real nasty flat-spot.

·
Premium Member
1,567 Posts
Chances are you have multiple problems for it to fall on its face so badly. Some quick checks.

Idle surging sounds like a vacumm leak of some sort. On older carbs, check the play in the throttle shaft. When they get worn, it can act like a vacumm leak. Some people spray a small amount of starting fluid around a carb to see if the idle changes, pointing to a vacuum leak. Better done when the car is still fairly cool.