Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the "essentials" to keep a 200-4R from shattering like glass behind a fairly stout small block (with the occasional shenanigans of burnouts and a few holeshots) on a shoestring budget?

I recently purchased a "gently used", albeit functional, 200-4R out of an '87 Monte Carlo SS, complete with the factory CBBF/2,000 stall lock-up converter, TV cable, and dipstick tube. It's got ~86k miles on it, it's weeping fluid out of nearly every orifice, and it's currently sitting on my shop floor. Originally, I was going to do a quick-and-dirty re-seal, service the trans with a TransGo Reprogrammer kit, and a new filter... but then I started reading about the dire need of a billet forward drum, better bands, etc. to survive any amount of time behind 300+wtq. I've got zero experience rebuilding an automatic transmission, but based on everything I've seen and read, I'd qualify myself as "mechanically inclined" enough to do the job with written instructions. But, if the cost is a wash, paying the right person to do it isn't out of the question, either.

I intend to stab it into my 3rd gen Nova with a 400 small block sporting 291 heads, XE262 cam, Performer RPM manifold. (Read: it's a torque powerhouse compared to a stock wheezing 305). Eventually, I intend to replace the 400 with a 355 I have on the engine stand that's north of 400hp/tq. The car has 4.88 gears and 28" tall tires.... thus the need for O/D. The car will likely see less than 1,000 miles a year, and will really only be meant to drive around town, to-and-from work, and maybe do a few ice cream cruises.