Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've been enjoying this site for a couple of years but have never really posted because I'm just a plumber with the computer skills of a five-year-old! Anyway, I have questions so here goes.

I have a 63 ss that has gone from a street car to street/strip car and is probably going to end up a trailerd drag car. It has a stock front clip with the CPP mini subframe, stock upper arms with global west bushings, morosso trick springs, and Calvert 90/10's. The front pops up nice on launch but doesn't want to completely settle until the wheels are turned.

Is this due to the poor geometry and the deflection created on the shocks at full extension or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hmmm. Has no one encountered this or would this be better suited for the drag racing forum?

·
Vendor
4,056 Posts
What do you mean it will not settle untill the wheels are turned?.......at the end of the track? with a little confusion I will give it a try. What setting are you using on the 90/10's? I used to run the same shocks and found that the car actually came up too fast and I ended up in the lowest setting making them more like a stock shock, not to mention in the easiest ,up setting, the car did not really want to settle down, and you are also running trick springs, this may be adding to the cause and effect.

With drag racing in mind do you have some lubricant on the lower control arm eccentric bolts? If I were using those particular arms, which I will not, I would make sure to lube the pockets and bolts so that the arms could have as little as possible resistance.

I hope I was able to help you out somewhat?....feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4