Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All
Im new to site and novas. Ive recently purchased a 1972 2 door and am looking into changing the whole front end suspension and tyres to come close to stock height.

I have read almost all the old threads I can find on this topic which was informative, but left me with some uncertainty.

I am running a 400sbc with alloy heads and intake, power steering, no A/C, battery up front, all steel panels and original front end.

I would like to run 215/65/15 (I think 26" tyre) up front with a stock height front coil spring, and original front end.

So my question is, does anyone have this setup or know the approximate height of the setup I'm seeking? (A measurement from ground to top of wheel arch on front guards would be great)

I understand there is probably a huge amount of Varibles but im just after a ball park figure so I can Jack the front end up to approximate height and see what it will look like before I make changes.

Thanks in advance
Bunyip

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Sorry I should have mentioned the current setup measures
23.4" front on 165HR15 or 25.4"
23.8" rear on 255/60/15 or 27"
(Measured ground to arch of guards)

Which only gives me 75mm 3" clearance from ground to collectors.
Cheers
(Cant attach photos for some reason)

·
Registered
1972 Nova
343 Posts
I have Z28 springs (supposedly 1-1.5" drop) in front, stock 5-leaf springs in back, with a stock 350 (iron everything), PS, AC delete, battery up front, and a 2" cowl hood with all steel in front. I'm on 235/60-15 (26") tires in front, 255/60-15 (27") tires in back. I'm sitting at 25.5" in front driver, 26" front passenger, 26" rear driver, 26.5" rear passenger. The only rubbing I'm getting from short drives on my road is from the front driver side, but I believe that's from my inner fender being bent out a little bit from the subframe. Here's a side shot:
IMG_20190914_161703064.jpg