Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1970 Nova 2 Door, 350 w/Powerglide
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the previous owner replaced the external voltage regulator type alternator with the one-wire kind. After 20 years, that alternator is on it's way out. I have a new Powermaster alternator ready to go in and saw on their instructions they had a kit to keep the "No Charge" light (GEN light) so I bought that too. Looking at the harness, I do not see the plug that went into the original alternator with the blue and white wires. It was probably cut off. Those wires run to the voltage regulator, correct? Are those 2 wires in the wire loom at the top of the radiator support?

If anyone has pictures to share of this, it is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
6,819 Posts
Is the 4 wire plug by where the old external voltage regulator was at (by the horn relay on the backside of the radiator support) ?.

Who knows what was done but the blue and white wires that were on the two wire plug at the back of the old original alternator were taped in the loom along with the larger alternator output wire. In the loom the blue and white went to 2 of the 4 terminals on the original external voltage regulator and then the third terminal of the voltage regulator was on a fusible link that then connected with the alternators output wire as well as the main battery wire going to the horn relay buss and the battery junction block, and then the 4th out of the 4 terminals on the original external voltage regulator was a brown wire that went to and through the bulkhead connector to the GEN light in the dash as well as tied into a resistance wire that went to the ignition switch going off of diagrams I have.

https://flic.kr/p/21smzFQ

Jim

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is the 4 wire plug by where the old external voltage regulator was at (by the horn relay on the backside of the radiator support) ?.