Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, so, I took my 1970 Nova 350 on it's first "long" drive over the weekend, from Reno to Pleasanton, CA for the NorCalNovas Family Reunion.

This is about a four hour drive, and traverses the Sierra Nevada Mountains, which means a lot of altitude changes and long highway runs.

The first heat related issue is with the starter. After a good two hour run, I stopped for gas, filled up, turned the key and got nothing. I suspected right away it was the starter solenoid getting too hot, since I had been driving the car around town for the last 3 months without issue. So, I pulled my hammer out of the tool bag and gave the starter a few good taps. Yup! After that she turned over and we were on our way again. I have read a few common solutions to this problem, and right now I am leaning towards relocating the solenoid, but I wanted to hear some of your opinions on options to correct this annoying issue.

Second heat related (I think) issue was on the drive home yesterday. About 20 miles out of town the car started heavily surging, especially going up hill. I am pretty sure it was vapor lock. It was around 93F as I came down the mountain. This is when the car started to surge and continued to do so all the way home, to the point where I couldn't really go faster than 40-45MPG without it really chugging. The car has the original Quadrajet carb. I have read a few things about correcting this problem on various vehicles, but I wanted to see if there is anything specific for the Nova 350 that might help.

Thanks, all!

·
Premium Member
913 Posts
Hotter than a two dollar pistol

1. Move the solenoid to under the hood.
2. Install heat shielding, on what ever gets hot.

·
Registered
9,992 Posts
You can't relocate the solenoid. It is part of the starter and the starter won't work without it.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #6