Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need advice on how to sell my Nova. It's my first time selling a classic car myself and I've seen a lot of disparity in prices online. I'm an active duty Marine officer and will have orders to Hawaii leaving in January. I HAVE to sell this car well before then. It will be too expensive to store and/or ship.

The car is a 1968 Chevy II Nova, 307 V8 with the paperwork for all modifications and any work done on it since 1968; including the original purchase receipt. The body is in overall good condition with majority original parts throughout. Over the years a Viper security system, Alpine audio system, disc breaks, power steering, and under dash A/C were added. I purchased the car from Streetside Classics in Charlotte, NC for $20,000.

The problem: I tried consigning it back in 2012 but it failed to attract any buyers. In February 2013 I attempted to drive it from it's previous home of Charlotte, NC to its current location in Gainesville, FL. It blew a tired and damaged the rear left fender so I had it shipped the rest of the way. It has sat covered and untouched for 3 years in storage (I blame recruiting duty). Now it won't start.

I put in a new battery but it won't turn over. Right now I assume it's the low oil, old fuel filter, and 5-10 gallons of bad gas in it. We're going to add oil, siphon the gas, and attempt to get it started. We think it might also be a bad starter. Below are some questions I need answered.

What kind of price should I list it for? I can provide all kinds of information/photos to help.

What websites are the best to list it on?

What are some scams/problems I should watch out for when selling?

Should I continue to try to fix up the vehicle to get it to sell or would you recommend selling it "as is"?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,253 Posts