Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a little long but I wanted to give you the history of what I’m doing. I have been gathering parts for a 283 since 1984. Because of other commitments I figured I’d be fine just buying a few parts along as funds became available. I wanted to keep my Nova engine as original as I could but it needed some upgrading. As I got to the point of retiring in 2007 and having most of what I needed, my wife asked about air conditioning so I took the step and purchased a complete VintageAir system. Since my engine was a bare bones with no power steering or air conditioning I ordered a VintageAir System with the brackets for a Short Water Pump. I never intended to install power steering so I figured buying the VA system for a short water pump would work out just fine. What I didn’t do was purchase the 2-groove water pump and crank pulleys at the time. As time slipped by, I completely forgot about the pulleys.

Around 2012 I ended up pulling the 350 engine that I had completely rebuilt in 2010 from my 1979 Camper G20 Van. It only has a little over 14K miles and I figured it’d be a nice 4-bolt engine to replace the tired 283 so I purchased a complete conversion kit from Chevy2only to convert the 350 to a front sump. So, here I am now and need some help.

Here are some questions I have about this conversion:
  • Will the old 1965 exhaust manifolds (3790729 & 30) work with a set of 3927186 heads?
  • If I want to upgrade to aluminum heads, does anyone know what heads would mate to these old exhaust manifolds and an old 3844459 intake manifold?
  • Will a short water pump install over the 350 timing chain cover?
  • Will the 350 accept the 283 6” balancer or do I need to run the 8” 350 balancer?
  • If I have to use the 350 balancer will the 283 2-groove pulley mount on the 350 balancer?