Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i recently bought my dream car. A 1963 nova. it came with the stock 194 and powerglide. I am making a lot of modifications including a v8 swap, but i am having a hard time finding information about the rear end. Its not like a normal 10 or 12 bolt chevy. It has no inspection cover but 10 nuts on the inside side holding on a third member. There is a sticker inside the trunk stating that it is equipped with a limited slip diff. I am not sure how much torque this style unit can handle, and i at least want to put some good 5 lug axles in it. Im not sure if the axles are c clip style and i have to remove the third member, or if they are just bolt on. I have no experience with a drop out third member. I would much appreciate any knowledge you guys have about these units.

·
Registered
2,815 Posts
It could have a positracktion differential and better gears but you will have to investigate further to confirm. These axels were in GM passenger cars from 1955-1964 and are an 8.2” differential set. They are NOT C-clipped. They are like a Ford 9” assembly’s but not as strong. The drop-out diff carriers are interchangeable with other full-size passenger cars that have the 8.2” axles and posi units were available in the 50’s. I had a 56 Chevy chassis with a 4.11 posi differential. You can redrill the axles you have for a 5 lug bolt pattern if the axle is in good shape or you can swap a 64-67, 5 lug Nova axle.

The pictures are tri-5 versions. The rolling chassis is a 56 with 4.11 posi and the loose axle is a 57 open diff not sure on the gear ratio. Both of these are 5 lug 4.75” bolt circle axles as most passenger car applications will be. These axles a too wide for early 62-72 Nova’s.
9CDFA90C-0FB3-4483-AA29-8D1B6443E1D4.jpeg
2CF3F0DA-30BA-4844-A93F-7C9B040BA58A.png

·
Super Moderator
3,836 Posts