Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm pretty new to the scene with the Nova/Acadian's my car has a mild/medium 350 in it with a turbo 350 tranny, the thing is it has 2.56 gears in it and that is not what I want at all. The guy built it for going on long cruise's I guess but I want to know what you guys would put in for a good off the line car that can still go on the highway without killing it? It doesn't even have Posi which is another issue but when I put the gears in I'll try to find one for it.
Any help would be appreciated.
Chris

·
Registered
4,760 Posts
well since your still cruising it i would go 3.23s or 3.55s to keep its manners good on the freeway i wouldnt go above 3.73s , you can but it gets a little high the freeway

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
Go with a 3.55, this is a nice gear you can still drive on the e-way with and not drive you crazy, i put the original 3.31 back in my nova and it does [email protected], before it did [email protected] with 4.10's, basically speaking the gear you use reflects your rpm at highway speeds give or take a 100 rpm depending on tire diameter. but i run a 454BBC so torque isnt an issue for take off. 3.73's are the deepest i would use. but mpg will be cut in half along with drivability. As for a posi i would install a mini spool for now, they are around $100 and it works good, istalled one in my friends 408 BBC nova.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4