Quick help for a transmission newbie - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova

Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Drivetrain & Performance

StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 30th-July-2019, 11:00 AM   #1
Jmorr
(OP)

Title: Nova Junior Member
Nova(s): I have a 1970 nova
Quick help for a transmission newbie

Thanks in advance for any assistance. I'm completely new to any kind of automotive work aside from swapping out the occasional part on my old '94 Ranger. I've never done any kind of transmission work so forgive me if my terminology is off.

I'm swapping out a broken shifter for a hurst and new rods on an M21 Muncie in a '70 Nova. The only reason I feel even slightly confident doing this is because I found a fantastic video on youtube I'll link below. In the video the guy said it's good to put a plug in the unused (shifter mounting?) holes because sometimes they punch through and can be a source of leaks. I pulled the old shifter and plate off the transmission and found six threaded holes with no plugs. My question is what kind of plugs do I need? I called Advance hoping this was a universal thing, but he said I'd need to know the size and thread. I see no signs of leaking, but this was a new build when I bought it so it hasn't seen much road time in its current configuration.

I've googled "m21 transmission plugs", but I only get info on drain plugs.