Lokar Throttle Cable - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova
 
Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Body and Interior > Best of Body and Interior


StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th-June-2006, 07:43 PM   #1
laser-red-nova
(OP)
 
laser-red-nova's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (8)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: El Cajon, Ca
Nova(s): 67 SEDAN
Posts: 2,352
Lokar Throttle Cable

I am installing the Lokar universal throttle cable. on my 64. Where did you guys drill the hole in the firewall at? Directly in line with the foot pedal? Pictures if ya got them .
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 17th-June-2006, 08:48 PM   #2
Wogs64SS
 
Wogs64SS's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (21)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Nova(s): 1964 Nova SS
Posts: 2,208
I'll take some pics of mine and download them for you.
__________________
Paul-64SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NNN#9160
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th-June-2006, 09:24 PM   #3
Wogs64SS
 
Wogs64SS's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (21)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Nova(s): 1964 Nova SS
Posts: 2,208
This may not be the most ideal place but it works great!


__________________
Paul-64SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NNN#9160
  Reply With Quote
 
Old 17th-June-2006, 09:35 PM   #4
Wogs64SS
 
Wogs64SS's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (21)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Nova(s): 1964 Nova SS
Posts: 2,208
Here's another
__________________
Paul-64SS

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NNN#9160
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th-June-2006, 11:50 PM   #5
laser-red-nova
(OP)
 
laser-red-nova's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (8)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: El Cajon, Ca
Nova(s): 67 SEDAN
Posts: 2,352
Good pictures. By the way lokar is making a foot pedal just for 1st and 2nd gen novas. thats the one I am instalinng. It bolts right up to the original 2 hole in the firewall were the old linkage went. Now I am puting the cable in, thats why the original question.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th-June-2006, 01:06 AM   #6
mrtimstik
 
mrtimstik's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (2)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chi-Town
Nova(s): dat one in da sig
Posts: 6,845
Garage
I also ordered the Nova pedal direct from Lokar about a week ago. Still waiting for it. Please post pics when you get it installed if you can, I would like to see it.
__________________
11.XXX seconds @11X.XX MPH At Da Grove in 100% street trim 5/9/08 Yeah Baby!!!!!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th-June-2006, 02:58 AM   #7
Jake
 
Jake's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Springs,MO
Posts: 1,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser-red-nova
I am installing the Lokar universal throttle cable. on my 64. Where did you guys drill the hole in the firewall at? Directly in line with the foot pedal? Pictures if ya got them .
It would be best to try and mount it in a straight line from the pedal thru the firewall because the cable can cut into the teflon liner eventually and bind up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th-June-2006, 04:13 AM   #8
Nwayne
 
Nwayne's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (26)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Nova(s): 64 2dr Coupe The Money P
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtimstik
I also ordered the Nova pedal direct from Lokar about a week ago. Still waiting for it. Please post pics when you get it installed if you can, I would like to see it.
What's the part number for the pedal? I can't find it on thier web site.

Thanks
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

64 Nova Coupe

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th-June-2006, 08:59 AM   #9
pete66

iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwayne
What's the part number for the pedal? I can't find it on thier web site.

Thanks
I called Locar last week and they told me that they were not selling the 1st-2nd gen. replacement pedal yet, tehy were still working on them. But he did give me the part #'s so I could check back later.
Pedal assy. #BAG6127
Cable & bracket #DP1000HT
I'll be getting one ASAP.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th-June-2006, 11:25 AM   #10
Bucs01

iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 481
That worrites me. I bought a pedal from them a few years ago (have not installed yet) and they told me it was for 62-67 Novas. Tonight I am going to check it out and see what part# it is. I still have all that stuff in the box.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th-June-2006, 09:46 PM   #11
mrtimstik
 
mrtimstik's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (2)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chi-Town
Nova(s): dat one in da sig
Posts: 6,845
Garage
Ordered a LOK-XBAG6127 from Summit 6/6/06 and was told at that time it was "in-stock" at Lokar and would be drop shipped from them on 6/7/06. Have not received anything except an invoice explaining what I just said. Car is apart and waiting for parts. Oh boy.
__________________
11.XXX seconds @11X.XX MPH At Da Grove in 100% street trim 5/9/08 Yeah Baby!!!!!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th-June-2006, 11:16 PM   #12
laser-red-nova
(OP)
 
laser-red-nova's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (8)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: El Cajon, Ca
Nova(s): 67 SEDAN
Posts: 2,352
I started to install my pedal assembly today . It went fine, Had to drill out the existing holes out just a tad for the bolts to go thru.Hint --tack weld the bolts at the bolt end so you can put it thru the firewall and tighten it on the interior side. Instructions for the carb side of the universal cable from Lokar (LOK-TC-1000HT) were very good. As for the pedal side they were none to be found. Thats why I asked in the previous post how to line up the cable to the firewall. Well the firewall were I drilled is angled. So when I drilled and installed the cable it drags on the inner liner.The kit comes with 2 offset washers but I can not get them to line up.It would have been nice if they would have warned me about the offset in the firewall. I guess I will try to drill the hole out a little bit to see if I can get a staighter shot . The pedal is nice but no instructions. By the way those are the right part#s for the pedal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th-June-2006, 09:45 AM   #13
Bucs01

iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 481
Hey guys. i will be installing mine soon. Just wondering about the question of the pedal/cable angle. Since on the engine side its best to have hte cable thru the firewall about level with the carb, that would mean we would have to mount the pedal up/higher on the firewall on the interior side. RIght?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th-June-2006, 09:58 AM   #14
NIGHTSHADE
 
NIGHTSHADE's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (109)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Central Minneso
Nova(s): NONE! It's a Chevy
Posts: 13,650
Wait until you get the pedal before you drill any holes, since the length of the pedal shafts may be different. I'll post pics of mine later today. (providing that I remember)
__________________
I am no longer a dealer for New/Aftermarket parts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th-June-2006, 11:42 AM   #15
pete66

iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtimstik
Ordered a LOK-XBAG6127 from Summit 6/6/06 and was told at that time it was "in-stock" at Lokar and would be drop shipped from them on 6/7/06. Have not received anything except an invoice explaining what I just said. Car is apart and waiting for parts. Oh boy.


I guess I'll be calling Summit.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to hook up kick-down cable th350? NovaNate Drivetrain & Performance 27 25th-July-2006 06:32 PM
Throttle cable length 71Novacaine Drivetrain & Performance 8 22nd-May-2006 04:32 AM
74 Nova Throttle Cable Length? DriveWFO Drivetrain & Performance 2 30th-March-2006 06:32 PM
3rd gen throttle cable & bracket DriveWFO Drivetrain & Performance 6 25th-March-2006 11:31 PM


Site best viewed set to 1024 x 768.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Custom Designed for Steve's Nova Site by: vBSkinworks

 
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Lt
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.