8.8" Explorer rear axle swap questions (merged) - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova

Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Drivetrain & Performance > Best of Drivetrain & Performance

StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Closed Thread

Old 3rd-November-2005, 11:43 AM   #1
sharkattack

Title: Nova Newbie
8.8" Explorer rear axle swap questions (merged)

I know this is a dumb question but I am new to used parts.

I want to get the Explorer rear end with disks for my 63 and the yard near me has 4 or 5 of them 3.73 posi with the full disk set up for $200. I read that I will need to narrow one side about 3 inches. My question is where should I take it to get that done? Tranny shop, macine shop, or somewhere else ??????

Thanks for bearn with a noob.....

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 3rd-November-2005, 12:46 PM   #2
Necro

Title: Nova Guru
Nova(s): 1
you need to take it to a shop that speciallizes in narrowing rears, a driveshaft shop or a race/chassis shop.

also ditch the factory posi set up. they are very weak , the clutches always break and the s spring is always worn out.

ive built quite a few of them and they all stink. unless its a driver and then just rebuilding it will last for a while.

but if ya decide to street /strip it. it will lose it posi real soon.

good luck, alot of people are swapping to that rear. it may become very popular.
dana 60 3.73 gears,
TCI MII and 4 link

Old 3rd-November-2005, 02:35 PM   #3