New guage cluster mileage reading question - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova
 
Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Electrical


StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th-November-2012, 12:18 AM   #1
Tarantula
 
Tarantula's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (0)
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Nova(s): 1974 "454" Nova Custom
Posts: 1,561
Question New guage cluster mileage reading question

I plan on replacing my guage cluster in the future and was wondering about the mileage reading on the new one.

I'm assuming that it will read ZERO acoss as its new. Is there a way to make it start at the mileage YOU want it to start?

Technically, I would want my car to start at Zero miles when I really put it into service but right now it has the mileage that it has. I would write down the mileage and technically make that ZERO. Than I would want to make the new cluster start at the mileage I left off at time of install.

So can it be modified to my liking or it has to start at zero.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 17th-November-2012, 06:21 AM   #2
Fast65
 
Fast65's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (34)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, NY
Nova(s): 1963 coupe 1962 sedan
Posts: 2,963
I'd think it would depend on the manufacturer of the gauges you are installing. I spoke with the folks at Classic Instruments about this issue and they told me they can set odometer on their speedos to whatever reading the customer desires. If you have an aftermarket speedo to install, contact the vendor's tech dept.

Frank
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th-November-2012, 03:29 PM   #3
Tarantula
 
Tarantula's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (0)
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Nova(s): 1974 "454" Nova Custom
Posts: 1,561
Ok, So after trying different key words, I found a video that show me how to rest the odometer.

AWESOME!!!

I tried it on my extra odometer and it works!


Last edited by Tarantula; 17th-November-2012 at 03:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th-November-2012, 03:50 PM   #4
Custom Jim
 
Custom Jim's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (1)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis MO.
Nova(s): 1968,1973,1974,1977
Posts: 3,383
The attached pictures are from a 66 Impala which should be close to what is in the 68-79 Novas.

There is a retainer clip on the numbers axle and once this is removed the whole number set can be removed.

Be careful as inside the number wheels I think there are smaller wheel gears to where when one number rotates fully it moves the one to the left of it to the next number.

Also be aware the tabs of the spacers between the numbers must be engaged properly when it gets reinstalled. These spacers with tabs are for when a speedometer is spun backwards they then show white between the numbers.

Jim
__________________
68 Chevy II, 73 Custom, 74 Spirit of America, 77 Hatchback https://www.youtube.com/user/stlnovas

Last edited by Custom Jim; 17th-January-2013 at 08:47 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th-November-2012, 09:18 PM   #5
LandShark

Title: Nova Junior Member
iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Seattle
Nova(s): 1971
Posts: 155
So, you couldn't figure out how to roll back the odometer, so now you wanna start with a new cluster and roll it up to an acceptable point for resale?

Yeah Buddy!, I should give you a contact number for the Russians I deal with, they know how to do it, I load their "High Mileage" cars in containers for Russian resale all the time... They are all rolled back when they hit the Motherland..

Good luck!
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get a reading on oil guage ? Old Blue 68 Drivetrain & Performance 32 2nd-September-2010 11:38 PM
Fuel guage reading problem jaytone 3rd Generation Chevy II/Nova's 2 6th-February-2008 11:36 PM
Fuel Guage Not Reading Full TooManyReels Electrical 4 25th-February-2007 02:14 PM
No gas guage reading sterho Electrical 2 10th-June-2006 10:39 PM


Site best viewed set to 1024 x 768.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Custom Designed for Steve's Nova Site by: vBSkinworks

 
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Lt

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.