Proportioning valve - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova

Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Steering, Suspension, and Chassis

StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 16th-November-2011, 03:31 PM   #1
nova64000

Title: Nova Guru
Nova(s): 64 2 door Sedan
Proportioning valve

I haven't been able to get a decent pedal after installing the new discs from CPP. I have a corvette master cylinder and a new rear brake line that connects to the original rear brake line through a Jegs Prop Valve...

http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS-Performan...63020/10002/-1

I plumbed it this way only because a member advised me to do it this way when I originally converted to a Dual Master Cylinder. I'm not sure if its the correct way or the best way to run a proportioning valve but I'm willing to redo it if necessary as I don't want to cut any corners. I can't help but notice that most cars with Disk brakes have a prop valve under the Master Cylinder which may be a better setup (?) Also I didnt install a check valve which I understand may be needed depending upon the bore of the master cylinder as I have drum brakes in the rear.

I'm wondering if I should keep the adjustable prop valve or go with a different setup?

Nick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 16th-November-2011, 06:07 PM   #2
Rotorbolt

Nova(s): 1964 Chevy II 400 4dr sed