battery cable gauge for remote terminals? - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova
 
Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Electrical


StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th-March-2011, 02:10 AM   #1
434ChevyII
 
434ChevyII's Avatar

Title: Nova Senior Member
iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Nova(s): 1966 Chevy II
Posts: 211
battery cable gauge for remote terminals?

can you use a smaller guage cable to go from the remote battery terminals to the battery in the trunk? I have 1-guage cables in the car and want to add these:
http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS+Performan...0315K/10002/-1

i'm just going to use them to keep a battery tender plugged into, and in an emergency to jumpstart the car with.
__________________
OBJECTS IN MIRROR ARE MUSTANGS
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 27th-March-2011, 10:35 AM   #2
the FLYER
 
the FLYER's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (24)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: TudorpostVille
Nova(s): B Pillar of Society
Posts: 25,912
you should use 1/0 or OO cable (single Aught or double Aught) 1ga is somewhat on the small size for a remote/trunk mount battery...

http://madelectrical.com/catalog/tm-1.shtml
http://madelectrical.com/catalog/1-0.shtml
http://madelectrical.com/catalog/st-1.shtml
__________________
'64 411 377-Tko600-3:73's
'64 469, '63 435 (projects), & '63 469 (my driver)

Videos~Albums
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th-March-2011, 12:10 PM   #3
Custom Jim
 
Custom Jim's Avatar

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (1)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis MO.
Nova(s): 1968,1973,1974,1977(Sold)
Posts: 3,557
To figure out what would be the minimum size wire to go between the remote jumper posts and the battery you need to know the length of cable between the two points and the maximum amount of amperage you may be trying to pass between the two points.

There are charts online that show what size wire to run after you know the amperage and length and this is what you need to find.

For an example, if you are hooking up a battery charger that has a max output of 10A to the jumper posts and wire length from the jumper posts to the battery terminals are 2' then a 12 gauge may be required ( and I'm just pulling these numbers out of the air to give you an idea as to how this works). If later the battery would become dead and you wanted to hook up jumper cables from another vehicle to push something like 100A through the jumper posts through the 12 gauge wire to the battery then this wire would heat up and melt off the insulation as it cannot handle this amount of current. If you were to have let's say a 4 gauge wire, 2 foot long between the jumper posts and the battery then you could hook up jumper cables to them and it would work fine just as well as a small 10A trickle charger hooked up at the same point. I would just figure out the length of wire needed between your jumper posts and then fifure out the worst case for amperage and then run that size wire or the next size up.

I too would also crimp terminal ends onto the wire and then solder the connection.

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th-March-2011, 12:47 PM   #4
Burke

Title: Nova Guru
iTrader: (6)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fair Oaks Ca.
Nova(s): 1963 nova wagon
Posts: 3,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by the FLYER View Post
you should use 1/0 or OO cable (single Aught or double Aught) 1ga is somewhat on the small size for a remote/trunk mount battery...

http://madelectrical.com/catalog/tm-1.shtml
http://madelectrical.com/catalog/1-0.shtml
http://madelectrical.com/catalog/st-1.shtml
My "trunk" (no trunk, it's a wagon) mount battery works just fine with aprox. 25' of #2 cable for the positive lead, and grounded through the rear subframe/body. This might be a problem with a weak battery and a car that you have to crank forever to get it to start, but with the LS motor (starts almost imediately), and Odyssey ER40 battery (1,100 cranking amps) I have no problem at all.

As far as what size wire to use for remote posts you need to consider the total circuit length, how many amps you're trying to move, how long you are going to be moving them, and what other restrictions there are in the circuit. With remote posts for jumping you want them as close to the engine as possible (preferably right off the starter) if there is a good chassis, or engine ground available you don't even a post for the ground. As far as a trickle charger goes l would just install a small plug.
__________________
63 wagon L33 4L60E 12 Bolt 3.73 VA gen IV Willwood Brakes CBR front w/power rack & Watts link rear

Last edited by Burke; 27th-March-2011 at 01:21 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th-March-2011, 08:43 PM   #5
434ChevyII
 
434ChevyII's Avatar

Title: Nova Senior Member
iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Nova(s): 1966 Chevy II
Posts: 211
thanks for the replies.... the length of the cables from the battery to the remote terminals is only approximately 18" (I'm mounting the terminals in the right rear trunk drain plug area so I don't have to drill through the body or bumper).
I was thinking 4 gauge would be fine, but I guess I should just stick with the extra 1 gauge cable that I have, to be safe.
__________________
OBJECTS IN MIRROR ARE MUSTANGS
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th-March-2011, 09:08 PM   #6
434ChevyII
 
434ChevyII's Avatar

Title: Nova Senior Member
iTrader: (0)
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Nova(s): 1966 Chevy II
Posts: 211
this is the kit that I have: http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS+Performan...10303/10002/-1
... so, is there a difference between 1/0 gauge and 1 gauge (they list it as #1 gauge)?
-my battery has been in the trunk for over 10 years with 2 gauge cable running up into the engine compartment (with no problems). I'm now in the middle of completely re-doing everything and thought since I am now routing the cables differently I should take the opportunity to step up to a larger gauge cable (everybody says "bigger is better"!)
I hope I bought the right stuff!!!
__________________
OBJECTS IN MIRROR ARE MUSTANGS
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i'm fail, put wrong terminals on battery zero_proto Electrical 9 26th-February-2010 08:06 AM
Battery terminals... Ken H Electrical 2 6th-April-2008 10:35 PM
Need help with ideas on battery terminals ovrdrive Electrical 16 1st-January-2008 07:43 AM
1970 396 battery terminals l88z16 Electrical 8 6th-March-2007 11:31 PM
Crimping 1 Gauge Battery Cable? DriveWFO Electrical 7 21st-April-2006 06:41 PM


Site best viewed set to 1024 x 768.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Custom Designed for Steve's Nova Site by: vBSkinworks

 
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Lt

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.