How do i time my 400 SBC? - Chevy Nova Forum
Visit our sponsor, National Nostalgic Nova

Steve's Nova Site is an automotive enthusiast website dedicated to the 1962 - 1979 Chevrolet Nova, Chevy II and Acadian automobiles. We work together to preserve, restore, drive, show, race and provide fellowship for these classic cars. This is one of the best places to find information about parts, rebuilding, restoration and racing. This website is not affiliated with GM, General Motors or Chevrolet in any capacity.

Go Back   Chevy Nova Forum > Body, Chassis and Mechanical > Drivetrain & Performance

StevesNovaSite.com is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 16th-November-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
elblako91

Title: Nova Guru
Nova(s): 1974 SBC 406
How do i time my 400 SBC?

I finally put my engine back in my car and i need to time it with the timing light. What number of degrees am i looking for at idle? This is my first time timing an engine. I read somewhere that 14* at idle was close to factory specs. I have a SBC 400 with stock heads and internals and a edelbrock carb, intake manifold and a mild cam.

Thanks-Blake

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 16th-November-2008, 02:32 PM   #2
levisnteeshirt

Nova(s): shopping for the 6th one
did you ,,

After you changed the cam , did you put an advance kit in the distributor ? If the new cam has more overlap its not going to run well timed to stock specs , now its got a personality all its own.
Old 16th-November-2008, 03:18 PM   #3
elblako91

Nope just put everything back to the way it was. Whats this advance kit you talk about? I have a crane came with .450 lift. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks-Blake

Old 16th-November-2008, 04:55 PM   #4
levisnteeshirt

advance kit

Your timing comes from 3 sources, initial set at idle with a timing light , vacume from the engine and centrifigal from the advance system in the distributor.