Chevy Nova Forum banner

Looking to do an auto to 4 speed conversion, what do I need?

3K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  Dawg 
#1 ·
I'm looking to swap my TH-350 out for a 4 speed, probably saginaw. I'm guessing Ill need a new trans crossmember, bellhousing, flywheel, clutch, clutch fork, linkage, shifter, etc... Could some of the 4 speed guru's let me know whats involved for the conversion. Any reputable sites selling good repro 4 speeds? I'm a broke student so saginaw is probably the only way to go.

-Thanks, Ryan

#2 ·
The cross member will work, you will need a bell, flywheel and clutch of course. SS396.com sells a nice conversion kit for your linkages and pedals. All you gotta do is cut the floor for your shifter and it's done. Easy as pie.

Done it myself as well. Best mod yet.

#12 ·
SS396.com sells a nice conversion kit for your linkages and pedals.
My only question: how well does the conversion kit from SS396.com fit?

I've heard TONS of horror stories on how some vendor was selling a conversion kit and yet did not fit the vehicle they said it was supposed to.

#4 ·
You will probably need the correct Z-bar, and also the "ball?" that the Z-bar pivot's on. Someone else may be able to explain better. I know this was a hold up when converting my 67 Chevelle from auto back to 4-speed manual.

Good Luck... and agree,, best thing ever did to the Chevelle as far as fun-factor.

#5 ·