Chevy Nova Forum banner

Help me squeeze a little more HP out of...

1K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Crazyjake 
#1 ·
my 327. It has a mild hydraulic cam with regular old hydraulic lifters and self aligning rockers because I switched to vortec heads this summer. I am new at this engine buiding stuff, so I figured I'd ask the experts. Are there are other type of lifters and rocker arms I could switch to without getting too crazy? For example.....can I run roller lifters and roller rockers with the current hydraulic cam? Would I need a specific type of lifter/rocker since they are vortec heads?

Just curious. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

#2 ·
No....You can't run roller LIFTERS on a flat-tappet cam.:no:
You CAN run roller rockers.

As for your particular application. List out the rest of your combination and see what everyone says. There might be some better cam grinds available to better suit what you're trying to accomplish. Then again, your car might respond better to a gear and/or converter change.

Be completely honest about what your expectations are and what you want to do with the car.

#3 ·
Thanks D-Man. I have no real expectations, I just wanted to know if it was ok to do. I'll scrap the roller lifter idea. Thanks for the advice. Is there a specific type of roller rocker that I need to choose since they are vortec heads? Do I still need self-aligning? Do I need to stick to roller tip or can I go full roller? Actually, is this just a bad idea in general since I don;t really know what I am doing :yes:?

#4 ·
Thanks D-Man. I have no real expectations, I just wanted to know if it was ok to do. I'll scrap the roller lifter idea. Thanks for the advice. Is there a specific type of roller rocker that I need to choose since they are vortec heads? Do I still need self-aligning? Do I need to stick to roller tip or can I go full roller? Actually, is this just a bad idea in general since I don;t really know what I am doing :yes:?