Chevy Nova Forum banner

Wetsanding question

3K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  tx71nova 
#1 ·
i got the whole car wet sanded with 1000 grit and it all looks uniform and flat, now im sanding with 1500 but i cant see the difference between where i sanded with 1500 and 1000. i tried using a DA and doing it with a blockit all looks the same to me.

are there any ways to tell where i sanded with 100 and 1500?

thanks

#2 ·
i'm not a professional but i think the DA is to be used only up to a certain point, then it's blocks and only blocks.

once you're on blocks and in the finer stages of paper you're not as much sanding as you are smoothing. all the body work should be at the microscopic finish level and the finer papers are for taking it to that special finished degree... just watch where you're sanding (smoothing) and keep moving.

if you're sanding with a DA i'm unsure if the body will show it... it's not really the proper tool...

#5 ·
For wetsanding, I would not use a DA sander... by hand with a block.

In terms of telling the difference between 1000 and 1500, if you are pretty well smooth withg the 1000, not likely to SEE a difference with the naked eye, unless your really good, and have great lighting. Misting with black paint is one way, or just start at one spot and keep moving around. Point here in my experience, is if you did a good job with the 1000, if you don't hit every square millimeter with 1500, you still be just fine.

Having just thought about this, if you are talking about smoothing your clear coat finish, or your single stage paint, I would not mist dark paint. If you're talking about smoothing primer in prep for paint, you don't need to go down to 1500. That's more work than necessary. If clear coat, be careful you don't go through the clear, which can happen even with 1500 paper.

Mike

#6 ·