Chevy Nova Forum banner

Mono/Multi Leaf spring perch/saddle question

11K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  sbc1320 
#1 ·
OK, this may be a stupid question but I'm still learning. My 65 has multi leafs on the back that need to be replaced. Now, I know most of the cars came equipped with mono leafs and to convert to multi you need spacers etc. Before I buy something I don't need, can someone look at these pics and tell me if these are mono or multi leaf perches/saddles? The reason I ask is because I've had to go back and fix many, many things that were not done right the first time by the previous owner. The car is an original V-8 car, so it might have come stock with multi leafs?? Any help would be great.

Cory

See less See more
#3 ·
With the gap I see those are stock mono leaf perches. You can use them with multi leaf springs the only thing I would do is add some aluminum spacers in the gaps like this

The first pic is on my dads 72 and the second is on my 62 both are in stock mono leaf perches

#4 ·
zz572,
Thank you sir! When I order my new multi leaf springs, I'll order the kit that includes the u bolts with spacers.

Thanks again,
Cory

#5 ·
Hey Cory no problem but the U bolts we picked up at the local parts store and the spacers we made out of square stock aluminum:yes: Only thing after market on these are the springs

#7 ·
I went from worn out monos to new multis, except for the return to stock height I could not feel a difference between them going down the road. You could go back to stack and not have to worry about spacers and u-bolts.

#8 ·
I should think you can run the multi leaf in a mono leaf perch and eliminate the rubber isolaters. You should be back close to the material thickness of the mono with the isolaters. Also, it looks like you lower mount plate is distorted pretty badly. You probably should fix or replace that so you can torque everything down adequately.

#11 ·