Crankcase Evacuation Kits [Archive] - Chevy Nova Forum

: Crankcase Evacuation Kits

lktna
24th-May-2010, 06:32 AM
I have never used one before but I am thinking about giving it a try. I just got my Nova back together and it is smoking kind of bad and I had a friend tell me that that would take care of it. It is a solid roller 360 ci sb with 12.5:1 compression, Dart Iron Eagle 230s and all forged bottom end. It runs strong as hell but just smokes. Has anyone used one and it got rid of the smoke or is it a waste of money?

mdw66nova
24th-May-2010, 02:25 PM
I use one on my street car. No ports in the rocker covers. I have an early 327 with vent in the rear & vent/oil cap in the front. Installed the bung and valve just before the collector on the passenger side header. Welded a hose fitting to the stock vent tube assembly. Ran a hose between the two. Worked too well at first. It pulled oil up through the vent. I installed a restrictor and works well now.

Paul Wright
24th-May-2010, 02:38 PM
If your engine is smoking because of excessive blowby, crankcase evacuation won't fix the root problem. Do a leak down test to determine if you have poor sealing rings.

lktna
24th-May-2010, 06:39 PM
There isn't any blow by. When I pull the pcv valve there is no smoke what so ever. I was thinking with it being a decent size solid roller and not much vacuum that it was causing oil to be sucked into the intake.

D-Man
24th-May-2010, 07:02 PM
There isn't any blow by. When I pull the pcv valve there is no smoke what so ever. I was thinking with it being a decent size solid roller and not much vacuum that it was causing oil to be sucked into the intake.

If that's the case, then your valve cover either doesn't have a baffle or the one it DOES have is ineffective.:yes:

If you really are sucking oil into your engine from the PCV valve, then the E-Vac system is going to do the same thing and suck the oil right into the header collector.:rolleyes:

lktna
24th-May-2010, 08:10 PM